Was it a penalty when Livakovic knocked Alvarez down: The famous former English judge speaks

0
36
Was it a penalty when Livakovic knocked Alvarez down: The famous former English judge speaks

Was it a penalty when Livakovic knocked Alvarez down: The famous former English judge speaks


Argentina had taken a 1-0 lead over Croatia in the World Cup semi-finals in the 34th minute with Lionel Messi’s penalty goal as the match ended 3-0 in favor of the Argentines.

Argentina’s best player routinely scored a penalty in the first half by hitting the ball under the crossbar and Dominik Livaković had no chance to meet his shot. The situation was analyzed by retired English referee Peter Walton, who explained the situation to former players Gary Neville, Roy Keane and Ian Wright.

Neville, Keane and Wright were adamant that Argentina should not have been awarded a penalty. Former referee Walton after listening to the famous former players, was shown that they were completely wrong.

“The goalkeeper should have reached the ball first. He was going straight and missed it completely, then hit the player. He basically stepped into the attacker’s path and stopped him. So it’s a foul.”

“I understand that you are asking where the goalkeeper should go. But think of a fielder who slides to reach the ball, then touches an opposing player. In such a situation, there will always be a foul. The goalkeeper did the same,” explained Walton, with whom the former players disagreed.

READ ALSO:  Sevilla youngster Carlos Alvarez compared with Diego Maradona

Leave a Reply