Ballon d’Or results: Mane wins Socrates Award

Ballon d'Or results: Mane wins Socrates Award

By Jonathan Dicks   @Jonathan_Dicks

The 2022 Ballon d’Or awards were held on Monday night in Paris. Bayern’s Sadio Mane notably took home the Socrates Award and finished second in the Ballon d’Or to Karim Benzema.

Article image

In recognition of his incredible charity work in his home country of Senegal, Sadio Mane received the inaugural Socrates Award at the Ballon d’Or ceremony. The African Footballer of the Year built a hospital in his home village of Bambali and has provided aid to countless schools and families across the country.
Robert Lewandowski also won the first Gerd Müller Trophy, which honors the world’s best striker.

Here’s where Bundesliga and DFB players finished in the results:

Ballon d’Or (Men):
2. Sadio Mane
13. Sebastien Haller
T25. Joshua Kimmich
T25. Antonio Rüdiger

Ballon d’Or (Women):
4. Lena Oberdorf
6. Alexandra Popp

Kopa Trophy (U21):
3. Jamal Musiala
4. Jude Bellingham
T6. Josko Gvardiol
T6. Ryan Gravenberch
9. Karim Adeyemi
10. Florian Wirtz

Yashin Trophy (Goalkeeper)
6. Kevin Trapp
7. Manuel Neuer

More about Sadio Mané

Bundesliga Tactics Talk: Round Nine
Nagelsmann on Mané: “He had a liberating moment”
Bundesliga Tactics Talk: Round Eight
Kahn and Nagelsmann after victory: “Not riding too high.”
Salihamidzic: Mané still needs a bit of time
Bundesliga Tactics Talk: Round Seven

More about FC Bayern

Leroy Sané out with muscle injury
Bundesliga Team of the Week: Matchday 10
Nagelsmann praises Choupo-Moting following stellar performance
Bundesliga Tactics Talk: Round 10
Bayern move to 2nd with dominant win over Freiburg
Herbert Hainer to remain Bayern president

READ ALSO:  Casillas criticises Ballon d'Or after Messi wins seventh award

Leave a Reply