Former referee explains why Callum Wilson was not given a penalty for Newcastle against Arsenal

0
221

Former referee Peter Walton has explained that Newcastle shouldn’t have been awarded a penalty, despite their claims, during the Magpies’ 2-0 loss to Arsenal.

The Gunners dominated the early kick-off at the Emirates, finishing the game with 66% possession and all three points.

Bukayo Saka opened the scoring, finishing off a fantastic team move. Emile Smith Rowe found Nuno Tavares, who slipped through the 20-year-old to score with a clinical shot across goal.

Substitute Gabriel Martinelli then doubled the lead, as Takehiro Tomiyasu’s cross was met by the Brazilian to steer home a volley inside the six-yard box.

However, between the two winning goals, Eddie Howe’s men felt as though they should have been awarded a spot-kick.

Striker Callum Wilson got ahead of Gabriel and Tavares from a cross and went down under the challenge of the left-back. Despite the appeals, nothing came of the incident and the subsequent VAR check.

Former referee Peter Walton was quick to explain why it wasn’t a penalty on BT Sport, saying: “The law is actually quite specific on this occasion.

“If the ball is in playing distance, which it clearly was, then a fair shoulder barge or charge can happen on an opponent and that’s what happened.

“If you look, Stuart Attwell is rising through the middle with two players here,

“Tavares comes across, yes there’s a coming together of players but it is shoulder on shoulder. Wilson is probably off balance so he goes down very easily but in law that’s perfectly allowed.

“The referee goes with his gut feeling. He sees it down on the field, sees the two players coming together, and feels it’s a fair shoulder barge.

“He also feels that the ball is within playing distance even though Wilson is getting the ball under control.”

The question was then put to him as to whether it could be overturned, with Walton answering: “No because VAR is looking for clear evidence to overturn an on-field decision.

“Now, was there enough evidence to overturn the original decision? Had Stuart Atwell given the penalty kick, there’s not enough evidence to overturn it in that respect. VAR would’ve kept out the way.”

Source by Football London

READ ALSO:  How Chelsea's two games against Juventus show evolution of Thomas Tuchel's coaching genius

Leave a Reply